5

Our
vineyards

Originally Sauternes wines benefit from a skillful association of natural conditions. The Mercadier vineyards make the most of this perfect combination of elements.

The terroir of Sauternes: a secret alchemy

The 3 properties that make up the Mercadier Vineyards stretch from north to south in 3 of the 5 towns in the appellation.

The Mercadier vineyards at the heart of an exceptional microclimate

Our parcels stretch from the north to the south of the Sauternes appellation, enjoying the southwestern sunshine. Here the oceanic climate is temperate. Sheltered by the Landes forest and moistened by the Garonne and Ciron rivers, soils are covered by a gentle, protective morning mist.

Sunlight will warm them up a little later during the day. It is this unique combination of climate conditions, together with an exceptional terroir, which creates this perfect harmony and gives birth to Sauternes wines.

A blessed terroir: warm on the surface with a damp subsoil

Soils are composed of gravel on the surface which reflects sunlight and keep the heat. Below the surface it turns into clay whose draining power forces the vines to dig deeper to search for nutrients, namely alluvials and sediments from the quaternary era.

Their long roots delving deeply into the subsoil protect the vines from water stress during heat waves. Forced to make their way deeper through the subsoils, these vines give their best.

A grape variety selection respecting traditional growing techniques and encouraging creativity for Sauternes wines
We develop grape varieties traditionally used for the Sauternes appellation.

In the Sauternes region more than elsewhere tending the vines is a matter of patience and expertise

The vines are tended all year round, and most operations are carried out manually. Old vine stocks are replaced “in complantation” by carefully selected young plants. We then need to wait many years before they start to produce wines that meet our quality requirements.

The Sauternais region is the home of a strange miraculous fungus!

Botrytis Cinerea is a necrotrophic fungus, which means it kills its host in order to consume it and continue to grow. Feared by many cultivators, it is an essential ally for Sauternes wine growers.

In the Sauternes region harvesting is always done by hand

Season after season our teams carefully tend our vines until the famous grape harvest, always carried out manually. This meticulous operation is specific to Sauternes wines.

Winemaking

Sauternes wines: rare wines with delicate vinification

The overripe and candied grapes will only produce a few precious drops. Indeed Sauternes wines are among the lowest yielding wines: it will only produce one glass of Sauternes while in most vineyards it will be one bottle!

Mercadier’s Sauternes wines:
: vinification from the vine to the oak!

Picked berries are immediately put in pneumatic presses. The musts obtained are transferred into small temperature-controlled stainless steel tanks. This enables a precise control of the fermentation process of our different batches.

In early December, once fermented, our wines are aged in barrels. 100% of these barrels are made of French oak. The wines are racked and tasted every three months to check on their evolution, and the level of barrels is regularly completed in order to avoid oxidation.

100%

French oak

Paul Mercadier: a taste for accurate blending and original notes

Wines are only blended after an 18-month aging period. This involves long hours of tastings, trials and discussions which are decisive for the future of our wines. Paul Mercadier , surrounded by his family, will make use of his open-mindedness and his audacity tinged with tradition.

Our wines are then estate bottled and make their way all around the world!

Can we enjoy young Sauternes?

Sauternes wines can definitely be aged for several decades and patiently wait before unveiling their amber colour.

"no rule!"

We put great love in our wines, now it is your turn to treat yourself!

The best way to enjoy it will be your way. A crusty baguette, a little Roquefort cheese with a glass of Sauternes: a simple snack becomes pure magic. An impromptu dinner, a small occasion at home or just feeling like sharing a moment with your family or friends…the wines from the Mercadier vineyards offer different notes depending on their age: fresh or more sophisticated, fruity or more honeyed, it’s up to you!

The wines from Mercadier Vineyards offer, depending on their age, fresh or more advanced, fruity or more honeyed notes. You choose ?

En savoir + 

Journal

5

Nos
vignobles

C’est une science savante que la nature a déployée pour associer toutes les conditions favorables à la naissance des vins de Sauternes. Les Vignobles Mercadier bénéficient de cette combinaison parfaite des éléments.

La secrète alchimie des terres de Sauternes

Les 3 propriétés qui composent les Vignobles Mercadier s’étirent du nord au sud sur 3 des 5 communes de l’appellation.

Les Vignobles Mercadier au cœur d’un micro-climat exceptionnel

Nos parcelles s’étirent du Nord au Sud de l’appellation Sauternes sous le soleil du Sud-Ouest. Ici, le climat océanique est tempéré. Abritées par la forêt des Landes, humidifiées par la Garonne et le Ciron, les terres sont caressées par des brouillards matinaux, doux et protecteurs.

Le soleil viendra les réchauffer un peu plus tard dans la journée. C’est l’unique conjugaison de ces conditions, associée à un terroir exceptionnel, qui crée l’osmose parfaite et fait naître les vins de Sauternes.

Un terroir béni : chaud en surface, humide en sous-sol

Les terres sont composées en surface de graves, qui réfléchissent les rayons et conservent la chaleur. Plus en profondeur, elles se transforment en argile dont le pouvoir drainant oblige les vignes à s’enfoncer pour se nourrir des alluvions et sédiments du quaternaire qui composent nos sous-sols.

Ces longues racines en allant plonger loin sous la surface, protègent les vignes du stress hydrique lors des périodes de canicule. Obligées de se frayer une voie au plus profond, ces vignes donnent alors le meilleur d’elles-mêmes.

Un encépagement qui respecte la tradition culturale et favorise la créativité en Sauternes
Nous exploitons les cépages classiquement utilisés en Sauternais.

En Sauternais plus qu’ailleurs, le travail des vignes est histoire de patience et d’orfèvrerie.

Les vignes sont entretenues tout au long de l’année et les travaux s’effectuent essentiellement à la main. Les ceps en fin de vie sont remplacés « en complantation », par de jeunes plants, issus de sélections rigoureuses. Il faut ensuite patienter de nombreuses années avant qu’ils ne commencent à produire des vins correspondant à nos exigences de qualité.

A Sauternes, vit l’étrange champignon faiseur de miracle !

Botrytis cinerea est un champignon nécrotrophe, c’est-à-dire qu’il tue l’hôte qui l’héberge pour s’en nourrir et poursuivre son développement. Redouté par de nombreux agriculteurs, il est l’indissociable allié des vignerons de Sauternes.

En Sauternes, on vendange à la main, inlassablement

Au fil des saisons, nos équipes veillent avec soin et minutie sur nos vignes jusqu’aux fameuses vendanges, toujours manuelles. Ce travail d’orfèvre est une spécificité des vins de Sauternes.

La vignification

Les Sauternes, des vins rares et une vinification toute en délicatesse

Sur-mûris, confits, les raisins ne produiront que quelques gouttes précieuses. Les vins de Sauternes font d’ailleurs partie des plus faibles rendements. Un pied de vigne ne produira qu’un seul verre de Sauternes, là où dans la plupart des vignobles, il peut produire une bouteille !

La vinification
des Sauternes Mercadier, de la vigne au chêne !

Les baies récoltées sont immédiatement soumises au pressurage assuré par des pressoirs pneumatiques. Les jus obtenus sont envoyés dans de petites cuves en inox thermo-régulées, qui facilitent le contrôle de la fermentation des différentes parcelles.

Début décembre, nos vins, une fois reposés, rejoindront notre parc barriques. 100% de celles-ci proviennent de chêne français. Les vins sont soutirés et dégustés tous les 3 mois pour en vérifier l’évolution, et le niveau des barriques régulièrement complété pour éviter les phénomènes d’oxydation.

100%

bois de chêne français

Paul Mercadier ; le goût des assemblages précis et des notes originales

Ce n’est qu’au terme d’un cycle de 18 mois, que les assemblages sont effectués. De longues dégustations, essais et réflexions président à ce moment déterminant pour l’avenir des nos vins. Paul Mercadier, entouré des siens, y insuffle son esprit d’ouverture, son audace teintée de tradition. Il ne reste alors qu’à mettre nos crus en bouteille au château et à les envoyer vivre leur vie de par le vaste monde !

Quand & Comment déguster nos vins de Sauternes ?

Assurément, les Sauternes peuvent se conserver plusieurs décennies et patienter longuement avant de dévoiler leur robe ambrée.

"pas de règle !"

Nous y avons mis tout notre amour, à vous de vous faire plaisir !

La meilleure façon de les déguster sera la vôtre. Un dîner à l’improviste, une petite occasion à la maison ou juste l’envie de profiter d’un instant en famille ou entre amis… Une baguette croustillante, un peu de roquefort et un verre de Sauternes, et vous transformez un simple en-cas, en pure magie.

Les vins issus des Vignobles Mercadier offrent selon leur âge des notes fraiches ou plus évoluées, fruitées ou plus miellées. A vous de choisir ?

En savoir + 

Journal